Fresh Live Jobs - Daily Update Government Jobs

Why Rivers Called the Lifeline of India


Why rivers called the Lifeline of India

India is a land blessed by rivers great and small, these rivers have shaped the history and culture of the land, they play an important role in the everyday lives of millions of Indians, they provide water for drinking, cooking and cleaning, irrigation, industry and power, they are also a major means of transportation and communication and provide livelihoods to millions of people too, cities and towns have sprung up on the banks of rivers and many rivers are of great spiritual significance as well, it is no wonder that rivers are considered to be the life line of India.

Major Sources of Water for Indians:

     India has ten major rivers there are three main sources from which these major rivers begin their journey, first main source is himalayan mountain range as well as the Karakoram range snowed and maintain a high rate of flow throughout the year, second main source is in central india it covers the satpura and vindhya range and the chota nagpur plateau, river ganga was also known as the ganges, the british who ruled India, popularized the name, today the name Ganga is accepted all over the world, third main source of indian rivers lies in the west the western ghats, of all the major rivers the narmada and the tapti rivers are the only major rivers are the only major rivers that flow into the arabian sea, all the other main rivers empty into the bay of bengal, snow clad himalayas are the source of many of the rivers of India, they are called the himalayan rivers the three main himalayan rivers are the indus, the ganga and the brahmaputra, river ganga starts from a glacier called gangotri glacier which is in uttarkhand at its birthplace it is known as the Bhagirathi, the Brahmaputra also originates from a glacier angsi glacier in tibet, indus originates from the Tibetan Plateau near lake Manasarovar and enters India in Ladakh it cuts through the himalayas in a deep gorge near nanga periapt to enter into the pakistan, indus has five main tributaries the sutlej, beas, ravi and chennab and the jhelum, these himalayan rivers are both snowfed and rainfed and therefore, flow continuously throughout the year.

Which are Peninsular Rivers

     Rivers that have their source in the peninsular region of India in the Vindhya and Satpura ranges, the chota nagpur plateau and the western ghats are known as the peninsular rivers, the main peninsular river systems are the narmada tapti, godavari, krishna, kaveri and mahanadi river systems, monsoons play an important part in maintain the flow of these rivers so they are said to be seasonal, they flow through shallow valleys and rifts with sleep sides, narmada and tapti flow eastwards while the rest flow westwards, they are not as winding as the himalayan rivers, and many of them have dams that are an important source of hydroelectric power, rivers covers a significant portion of rural India     

     India has many river systems, the ten main ones are the Ganga the indus, yamuna, brahamputra, narmada, tapti, godavari, krishna, kaveri and Mahanadi, some of these rivers flow east, some flow westwards, some empty into the bay of bengal others into the arabian sea, some flow steadily throughout the year, others are seasonal but they all nourish the land, making life more comfortable, hindus believe that the ganga is sacred and that bathing in it washes away ones sins yet sadly the ganga is also one of the most polluted rivers in the world as a result many species of fish, including the ganges river dolphin.

Ganga Called River without boundaries:

     Mighty ganga is not confined to one country its valleys stretch across India and Bangladesh in fact its basin covers parts of China and Nepal too, both in the lofty peaks of the Himalayas in the gangotri glacier it begins its journey as the Bhagirathi, rushes down to meet the mandakini and then the Alaknanda at dev prayag, from then on the river is known as the ganga, after cutting through the himalayas the ganga breaks out of the foothills at haridwar and flows across the vast gangetic plain, midway in its course near allahabad it is joined by one of its chief tributaries the yamuna river, ganga is one of the worlds greatest rivers its 2525 km long journey finally ends at the bay of bengal.

     Rivers have headstreams tributaries and distributaries a headstream is a stream that is a source of river, gangas headstreams are tributary is a freshwater stream that joins a large river most large rivers are formed from many tributaries and the ganga has more than a dozen, among them are the Ghagara, Yamuna, Koshi, Ramganga, its largest tributary river of the ganga followed by yamuna and koshi though the yamuna is a separate river system in itself it is tributary of the ganga, its a branch of the river that flow away from it, Hooghly is a distributary of the ganga that provides water for irrigation for west bengal, it leaves the ganga just before the river enters bangladesh.

     Ganga the national river of India is one of the longest rivers of the world and the longest river in India, born in the Himalayas it flows towards the bay of bengal, history of the river ganga is as old as India civilization it has seen the rise and fall of many empires and is considered sacred by the hindus, according to hindu beliefs a dip in the ganga can wash away all the sins of a literature, river provides means of livelihood for millions and fertile soil of tis plans yield bountiful harvests, some of the crops that can be cultivated along the river include rice, sesame, sugar cane, millets, wheat, potatoes, jute and seeds, thus it is not surprising that the river is often referred to as ganga or mother ganga for it nurtures the land and its people as a mother does. the river ganga actually begins at the Dev Prayag the meeting place of two of its headstreams the Bhagirathi and Alaknanda, after emerging from the mountains at Rishikesh the ganga is joined by the Ramganga, it joins the yamuna at allahabad the Hindus believe that the mystical river saraswathi too joins here, hence the name Triveni Sangam means the meeting place of three rivers.

Post a Comment